top of page
  • Writer's pictureChae Eun Son

The Ultimate Holiday Survival Guide: 6 Ways to Fill Your Pockets of Time


 

Before we move onto our first article of the year, we would like to introduce our new member in the WiB Editor's Team.


"Hi, I'm Roshni, a year 2 student majoring in Biotech and Business!

Having recently joined the editors team at WIB, I love creating fun and exciting articles to share, meeting new people, and gaining different perspectives about life in college. I'm an avid reader (which is why most of my articles will have a couple of book recommendations). In my free time, I explore debating, music- I play the violin - and places around Hong Kong. I also love dumplings and spend a lot of my weekends looking for restaurants to try them. I'm looking forward to this journey with WIB and you'll be seeing more of my articles over the next few months!


Happy holidays everyone,

Roshni."


 

With the holidays in full swing, one thing that I’ve found challenging is how to fill my (large) pockets of time. The transition from the end of semester to having stretches of free time isn’t easy, especially when you’re used to a packed schedule and a million things on your to-do-list, which is the case for most of us at UST. To make this transition smoother, here’s my collection of activities- leisure and otherwise- that help keep my mind occupied, and my days full:


  1. Watch movies or shows: Create a list of movies or TV shows you've been meaning to watch and enjoy some downtime on your own or with friends and family. Letterboxed, an online platform that helps you tailor movies and shows to your interest, is a great way to discover new media. 

  2. Update your resume and cover letter: Take the time to review and update your resume and cover letter. Tailor them to highlight your skills, accomplishments, and experiences over the last semester. 

  3. Network: Reach out to professionals in your field of interest through LinkedIn or other networking platforms. Attend virtual industry events or join professional organizations to expand your network and learn from experts in your industry.

  4. Start a side project: Use your free time to work on a side project related to your career goals. It could be starting a blog, building a website, or creating a small business. My personal goal for the next year is to start my own podcast! Having a side project keeps your spark going, and enhances your profile as an added boost. 

  5. Read a book: Pick up a novel, a self-help book, or any genre that interests you. Reading is not only entertaining but also helps expand your knowledge and vocabulary. Some of my personal favorites have been ‘A Living Remedy’, ‘Doppelganger’, and ‘The Heaven and Earth Grocery Store’.

  6. Exercise and stay active: Engage in physical activities like going for a walk or run, cycling, practicing yoga, or joining a fitness class. Exercise not only keeps you fit but also boosts your mood, and I’ve been enjoying going for long walks lately- it’s a great time to listen to a podcast, discover music or just lose yourself in thought. 


Here are some moments from my holiday so far:



























Most importantly, remember to prioritize your rest and relaxation. Whether this is through spending time with family and friends, traveling, picking up a new hobby, or giving yourself physical rest- that’s what the holidays are for, and it’s a well-deserved break from the hectic semester.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page